Skip to main content

North Country Consortium

We apologize: This program ended in 2019. Here's a brief history of the group behind it.

The SUNY North Country Consortium, was a partnership of SUNY institutions formed in 1985 to meet the rapidly growing educational needs of Fort Drum and the surrounding community as the 10th Mountain Division was reactivated and stationed at Fort Drum. As the only military base in New York State, Fort Drum initially met with SUNY representatives in 1984 to discuss the need for broadening higher educational opportunities in the Watertown/Fort Drum area. Realizing that the establishment of a new four-year campus was not feasible, the representatives decided that the educational needs of the area could best be met through the creation of a consortium of colleges. This approach allowed the responsibility for course and program delivery to be shared among member colleges without overburdening any one particular campus. This method of organization also ensured unity of effort while providing the Fort Drum Education Services Officer a single point of contact with whom to coordinate.


History of the SUNY North Country Consortium

Participating Schools

  • SUNY Oswego
  • Jefferson Community College
  • SUNY Potsdam
  • SUNY Canton
  • SUNY Upstate Medical University
  • SUNY Empire State College

Changes and Current Status

Changes such as the DOD MOU, changes to TA processes, the arrival of other nonSUNY institutions at Fort Drum, and changing student demand and access to online programming, have made the work of the Consortium as an entity no longer necessary. Therefore, the outcome was to make the difficult decision to end the Consortium in its current form at the end of the 2019-2020 fiscal year, on June 30, 2020. Moving forward, each college will continue to have an individual relationship with Fort Drum, working directly with the Educational Services Office and in collaboration with each other to serve the military and veteran populations of Fort Drum and beyond.


Please email [email protected]

SUNY Oswego

Jill Pippin

Jefferson Community College

Megan Stadler

SUNY Potsdam

Alan Hersker

SUNY Canton

Patrick Massaro

SUNY Upstate Medical

Jennifer Welch

SUNY Empire State College

Nikki Shrimpton


Division of Extended Learning

337 Sheldon Hall
Oswego, NY 13126


Phone: 315-312-2270
Email: [email protected]


8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.