Skip to main content

Civic Engagement Coalition (CEC)

What is the Civic Engagement Coalition (CEC)?

The Civic Engagement Coalition works with the Civic Engagement and Community Services Program Coordinator to promote democratic practice and values among students, faculty, and staff; to create and coordinate purposeful experiences within and beyond the classroom; and to develop knowledge, skills, motivation, and practice necessary for becoming responsible, engaged citizens in a pluralistic, democratic society.  The coalition is composed of students, faculty, and staff who are interested in furthering the mission of the committee and is chaired by Dr. Allison Rank.

While all interested members of the college community are encouraged to serve on the CEC, the following areas should be represented:

  • The four academic schools/colleges and Penfield Library
  • Student Association Office of Civic Engagement
  • The Center for Community Service and Service Learning
  • Residence Life and Housing
  • Offices directly engaged in linking the college with the wider Oswego community, such as EXCEL: Experiential Courses and Engaged Learning, Business and Community Relations, and Extended Learning.
  • The Associate Provost, Chair of Faculty Assembly, and Dean for Student Affairs serve ex officio.

The committee meets biweekly during the academic year to report on and make recommendations about curricular and co-curricular civic engagement activity.

Want to learn more or join? Contact Allison Rank, [email protected]

Membership for 2022-2023

Allison Rank (Chair), Vote Oswego & Political Science

Kelsey Jones, Student Engagement and Leadership
Karen Archibee, Extended Learning
Michelle Bandla, EXCEL
Katelyn Barber, Atmospheric & Geological Science
Mallory Bower, First Year Experience program
Laura Brown, Human Development
Kristi Eck, President's Office
Emily Estrada, Sociology
Terrian Garvis, James A. Triandiflou Institute for Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, and Transformative Practice
Jane LeBlanc, Counseling Services Center
Kathleen Locklear, Marketing & Management
Christopher McEvoy, Art
Jessica McGiff, Registrar
Wendy McManus, Intercollegiate Athletics
Mangala Nanthakumar, Environmental Health & Safety
Mike Paestella, Student Engagement & Leadership
Sahar Rajput, Admissions
Miranda Traudt, Artswego
Zachary Vickery, Penfield Library
Leigh Viscomi, Residence Life and Housing
Jacqueline Wallace,Career Services