Skip to main content

Get Involved

Mathematics / Applied Statistics Cooperative

The mathematics/applied statistics Co-op integrates a six-month work experience for mathematics majors and minors in applied statistics. The tuition-free six-month Co-op is planned with an employer to provide full-time paid work, in which students apply their classroom knowledge. Students should apply after at least one semester at SUNY Oswego and at least a year before the co-op. 

Co-op Requirements

Math Club

The Math Club brings students interested in math and related subjects together to participate in community activities and support events held by the department. For more information, see the link at Laker Life.


Louis R. DeRitter Award

Each year the mathematics faculty select outstanding junior and/or senior math students to receive this award. This award is given in memory of Professor DeRitter, a longtime member of the Oswego Mathematics Department. Award winners are chosen for their performance in upper division math courses.

2020- Ryan Gelnett (junior), Nicholas van Kempen (senior)
2019- Kyler Anderson
2018- Kyler Anderson (junior), Jonathan Backus (senior)
2017- Matthew Trudeau
2016- Dylan Gates (junior),  Tyler Pelle (senior)
2015- Amy Hannahan, Tyler Pelle
2014- Erica Wilson (junior), Nicholas Powers (senior)
2013- Ben Valentino, Rebecca Tango (senior), Laura Murtha (junior)
2012- Richard DiSalvo, Ben Valentino
2011- Daniel Ruley, Matthew Sartwell 

Emmet Stopher Calculus Award

The Emmet Stopher Calculus Award is awarded to the outstanding freshman calculus student. This honor is appropriately named as Dr. Stopher received a similar award as a college freshman. Professor Stopher was appointed in 1957, served as chairman of the Mathematics Department from 1958 to 1967 and retired as Professor Emeritus in 1979.

2020- Ka Ying Chan
2019- Hyunjin Yi
2018- Jennifer Ofodile
2017- Kyler Anderson
2016- Jonathan Backus, Ian Evans
2015- Vincent DeBiase, Dylan Gates
2014- Tyler Pelle
2013- Erika Wilson
2012- Zach Schrecengost
2011- Jordana O'Brien

John Walcott Award

The John Walcott Award is given by the Mathematics Department to elementary and secondary education majors with a concentration in mathematics. It recognizes consistent excellent performance in the mathematics courses required for the concentration. The award is named for John Walcott, who was a member of the department for many years.

2020- Autumn Proto, Nicole Sedlock
2019- Kasey Fuller, Meghan Galuppi
2018- Amelia DeJarnette, Meghan Galuppi
2017- Haley Parker
2016- Joanna McKinney
2014- David Randall, Laura Murtha
2013- Jackie Maguire, Kailea Nelson
2012- Jordana O'Brien
2011- Ashley Foster, Katherine Grzesik and Julie McCormick