Skip to main content

Strategic Planning

In alignment with Vision 4040: Expanding SUNY Oswego's Promise. As part of this plan, we aim to provide access and opportunity to higher education for all.

The Strategic Planning Steering Committee (SPSC) will steer the process on an aggressive timeline to have a draft of the plan shared with the university community in April 2024. This committee serves to lead the strategic planning process for SUNY Oswego.

Mission Statement

SUNY Oswego contributes to the common good by lighting the path to wisdom and empowering every person in the college community to pursue a meaningful life as a productive, responsible member of society.

Vision Statement

Inspired by a shared commitment to excellence and the desire to transcend traditional higher-education boundaries, SUNY Oswego will be a premier institution that provides a transformative experience to a diverse body of students, empowering them to live ethical and meaningful lives and build a better world.

Institutional Priorities

  • Student Success
  • Academic and Creative Excellence
  • Inclusive Community
  • Sustainable Institution
  • Partnerships

Strategic Reports


Strategic Planning Steering Committee

  • Scott Furlong, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
  • Liz Schmitt, Chair, Faculty Assembly
  • Billy Barlow, Vice President of Public Affairs & System Development
  • Cory Bezek, Vice President for Enrollment Management
  • Mary Canale, Vice President for University Advancement
  • Kendra Cadogan, Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer
  • Jamal Coleman, Director of Operations, Office of the President
  • Karen Crowe, Interim Vice President for Communications and Marketing
  • Austin Davis, Student Association President
  • Kristi Eck,  Assistant Vice President for Workforce Innovation and External Relations
  • Debbie Furlong, Director of Institutional Research and Assessment
  • Victoria Furlong, Vice President for Administration and Finance
  • Kathleen Kerr, Vice President for Student Affairs
  • Corie Kohlbach, Director of the Advising Center
  • Prabakar Kothandaram, Dean, School of Business
  • Sean Moriarty, Chief Technology Officer
  • Ritu Radhakrishnan, Associate Professor & Department Chair, Curriculum & Instruction
  • Murat Yasar, Associate Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Resource to the SPSC
  • Rick Buck, Director of Digital Services

Comments and Input

There will be ample opportunities for the entire campus community to contribute. We need your insight as we build on the strong foundation in place at SUNY Oswego. The subcommittees will include expansive membership from across the university community, and topics for the subcommittees will be determined in the coming weeks. 

Opportunities for Involvement



Focus groups


Feedback Form