Skip to main content

History Award Recipients


The Mahar Memorial History Award

Recipient: Isabel Dunning and Ashley Scott
This award honors the late Marion Mahar (d. 1960), professor of modern history. The award is given each year at Honors Convocation to the outstanding graduating senior in the field of history.

The Virginia L. Radley Fellowship

Recipient: Ryan Paternoster
Created in 1998 as a tribute to Dr. Virginia L. Radley (d.1998), President Emerita, in honor of her commitment to academic excellence and for her years of service to SUNY Oswego. 

Phi Alpha Theta

Phi Alpha Theta is a professional society whose mission is to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians. We seek to bring students and teachers together for intellectual and social exchanges, which promote and assist historical research and publication by our members in a variety of ways.


  • Courtney Wood
  • Shannon May
  • Aiden McCarthy
  • Elaina Berlin

The Distinguished Professor Geraldine Forbes Research Award

Named for Dr. Geraldine Forbes, who taught in the History Department from 1971–2012, and it honors Dr. Forbes’ commitment to undergraduate research.

The Jean Evans Memorial History Scholarship

Established by Michael Kirk in memory of his aunt, Jean Evans (d. 2011) who worked as an Administrative Assistant in the History Department for more than 25 years. The scholarship was established to reward an outstanding History major, preferably one from Oswego County, for good performance and campus involvement. 

Quest 2022

Ashley Scott giving a presentation at quest 2022

Ashley Scott, Senior 

Michelle Thomas giving a presentation at quest 2022

Michelle Thomas, Senior 

Michael Flemming giving a presentation at quest 2022

Michael Flemming, Senior 

Richard Rivera giving a presentation at quest 2022

Richard Rivera, Senior 

Three Seniors from left to right - Ashley Scott, Richard Rivera, and Michelle Thomas